The Collaboration Site is a joined space in PyraCloud that allows users and SoftwareONE to store and share large files that are too big to email, for example project files and deliverables for a managed service engagement.
Navigating to the Collaboration Site
The Collaboration Site is accessible through the top navigation bar by clicking on your user profile dropdown and selecting “Collaboration Site”.
This will take you to the Collaboration Site area where you will see your workspaces e.g. the Sharing and Transactions workspaces shown below:
Security and Permissions
Admins can manage permissions for the Collaboration Site in the “User Management” area.
Admins can grant access to the feature by setting access to “Enabled” as shown below:
Workspace Level Permissions
Admins can also manage access to every workspace separately. A workspace is an area where you can share files and links with other users. There are different levels of access to a workspace:
- None – Access is not permitted. Users are unable to view the workspace, and it is not displayed on the list of available workspaces.
- Read – Users can access all elements of the workspace in read-only mode. Users can browse through a directory structure, list files and download them. Modification of resources is not allowed.
- Read, Write – Users have all permissions included in “Read” mode. Additionally, users can upload files, create directories and links, delete files, directories and links.
A regular user does not have access to a workspace and they will see an “Access Denied” page.
Admins can assign permissions in two different ways:
Assign Users in the User Management Area
The first option is to go to User Management by clicking on “Company” in the main PyraCloud navigation bar and selecting User Management. From here you can look up the user and click on “View” in the actions column.
This will open up the permissions for that user. You can manage access in the Collaboration Site tab. Admins can assign access level for every existing workspace separately.
Assign Users Directly in the Collaboration Site
The second option is to manage user permissions within the “Collaboration Site” itself.
Admins will see the “Permissions” column visible as well as the number of users assigned to each workspace.
When the “Manage Permissions” button is clicked, a new window appears in which you can assign multiple users to the selected workspace.
The Manage Permissions window is a place where users can be assigned to a workspace. Listed users can have “Read” or “Read/Write” access rights granted. Admins can also delete a user from the list to remove their access rights.
Admins can preview assigned users within the workspace and can click on the assigned user to open the “Manage Permissions” window.
Users can attach files to any orders placed through PyraCloud and these files will be stored in the “Transactions” workspace.
Access to the Transactions workspace should be granted with caution, therefore permissions are configured in a different way to other workspaces.
Admins can grant access to the Transactions workspace by enabling “View Storefront Documents” in the “Company>User Management” area and searching for the user. In the Features tab, click on the Collaboration Site drop down and tick “View Storefront Documents”. Permissions are applied with a few minutes.
The main Collaboration Site page will show you the workspaces you have access to.
If you only have access to one workspace, you will be automatically redirected to its content.
Every workspace contains a list of files and directories. The top part of the screen contains action buttons and navigation elements (breadcrumbs).
Clicking on a folder name will open its content and update the top breadcrumb. To navigating up the tree, simply click on the breadcrumb.
Downloading Files and Folders
You can click on the file name to start the download process or you can click on “Download” in the Actions colum.
A folder can be downloaded in two ways:
- By clicking on the dropdown arrow in the breadcrumb and selecting Download. This will download the current open folder directory.
- By clicking on the more action buttons (…) in the Actions column and selecting Download. This will download the child folder.
The result is a zip file with compressed content of the folder.
Building the Structure
Creating a New Folder
You can create a new folder by clicking on the “Add New Folder” button and adding a Directory Name.
A new item appears as a child to the currently open folder. Folders can be added on any level of the file structure.
A newly created folder is marked with a “New” flag for two days from the date of creation.
You can add files by uploading them via the “Upload files” action button. You can drag and drop files into the upload box or selected them from your file system.
You can upload multiple files at the same time. File names need to be unique, if they aren’t then you will see an error message. However, files with names that already exist can be overwritten after selecting the “Overwrite existing files” checkbox.
Changing the Structure
Renaming Files and Folders
Entries in the file structure can be renamed by clicking on the more action buttons (…) in the Actions column and selecting Rename. This will open a popup where you can change the name. The new name needs to be unique.
Deleting Files and Folders
You can delete entries by clicking on the more action buttons (…) in the Actions column and selecting Delete.
The decision has to be confirmed in a modal window.
Moving Files and Folders
You can move files and folders by:
- Selecting entries to move
- Selecting the target directory
To select the entries simply select the check boxes next to the entries you want to move. Once you select an entry, the “Move” option will become active.
Clicking on Move will open a window with the existing structure where you can select the target directory.