1. Home
  2. How to Delete and Restore, Disable and Enable Users

How to Delete and Restore, Disable and Enable Users

The “delete and restore users” functionality is available for all customers with access to the new version of User Management.

If users do not need their PyraCloud access anymore (e.g. because they left the company), there are the following 2 options to revoke their access:

  1. Delete the user
  2. Disable the user

Choose to delete users if this is permanent and disable users if they might need to get access to PyraCloud in the future again (e.g. after coming back from a parental leave).

Delete Users

Users can be deleted from the list of users and from the user details.

Delete Users From the List of Users

Find the user to be deleted on the list of users. If you use the search, make sure to search in the list of active and / or disabled users. Click on “Delete” of the user to be deleted and confirm the user deletion.

Deleted users are shown on the list of deleted users and can be restored from there within 30 days after being deleted.

Figure 1: Delete users from list of users
Figure 2 – Confirm to delete users
Figure 3 – Result: Deleted users are available on the list of deleted users

Delete Users From the User Details

Click on “View” of the user to be deleted in the user list. Verify the user details before deleting the user. Click on “Delete User” and confirm the user deletion. Deleted users cannot be edited. This is indicated by the grayed out steps in the wizard.

Figure 4 – Delete users from user details (with option to verify)
Figure 5 – Confirm to delete users
Figure 6 – Deleted users cannot be edited

Restore Users

Deleted users can be restored within 30 days after being deleted. This can be done from the list of users and from the user details.

Restore Users From the List of Users

Find the deleted user on the list of users. Make sure to use the correct filter for the user status. Click on “Restore” for the user to be restored. There is no confirmation required to restore the user.

Restored users are available on the list of users again. Their status will always be “active” after being restored. If the restored user needs to be disabled, disable the user as described here.

Figure 7: Restore users from the list of deleted users
Figure 8 – Restored users are available on the list of users again (with user status “active”)

Restore Users from the User Details

Click on “View” of the user to be restored in the user list. Verify the user details before restoring the user. Click on “Restore User”. Restored users can be edited again. This is indicated by the active wizard steps.

Figure 9 – Use “View” to go to user details of deleted users
Figure 10 – Restore users from user details
Figure 11 – Restored users can be edited again

Special Case: Restore Users From Add Users

Deleted users can also be restored if a User Management administrator tries to add a new user with the same username as a deleted user that can be restored. In this case there are the following 2 options:

  1. Restore the user
  2. Create a new user

Restore users to bring them back with all of their permissions and settings. This will not create a new user.

Create a new user to specify their permissions and settings. When the deleted user with the same username is to be restored, the User Management administrator needs to specify another username.

Figure 12 – Restore users from add users (special case)
Figure 13 – Restore users requires another username when a user has been created in the meantime with the same username (special case)

Disable Users

Disable users to temporarily revoke their PyraCloud access.

If required, use the search to find the user. Click on “View” to go to the user details. Click on the “Enabled” status toggle and confirm the action to disable the user. Disabled users can still be edited.

Figure 14 – Disable users by using the “Enabled” status toggle
Figure 15 – Confirm to disable users

Enable Users

Enable users to grant them access to PyraCloud again.

If required, use the search to find the user. Click on “View” to go to the user details. Click on the “Disabled” status toggle and confirm the action to enable the user.

Figure 16 – Enable users by using the “Disabled” status toggle
Figure 17 – Confirm to enable users
Updated on September 7, 2022

Was this article helpful?